Nominees for Bishop, Executive Council and Court of Adjudication Announced

Twelve pastors have been nominated to serve as the next bishop of the North American Lutheran Church. The names of the nominees, as well as the names of nominees for Executive Council and Court of Adjudication, were announced May 10 by the 2019 NALC Nominating Committee. Biographical information on the nominees is published in this report from the Nominating Committee:

The 2019 NALC Convocation will elect the bishop when it meets August 8-9 in Indianapolis, Indiana. The Rev. John Bradosky, who has served the NALC as bishop since 2011, has announced that he is not available for reelection.

The nominees for bishop are:
The Rev. Dr. Catherine Braasch, STS, intentional interim pastor of Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church in Jackson Center, Ohio.
The Rev. B. A. “Tim” Christ, STS, pastor of Joy Lutheran Church in Richmond, Texas.
The Rev. Phillip Gagnon, STS, pastor of St. Albert Evangelical Lutheran Church in St. Albert, Alberta.
The Rev. Dr. Jeffray S. Greene, pastor of Word of God Lutheran Church in Peachtree City, Georgia.
The Rev. Marshall E. Hahn, pastor of Marion Lutheran Church and Norway Lutheran Church in St. Olaf, Iowa.
The Rev. Ronald Hoyum, pastor of Port Madison Lutheran Church, Bainbridge Island, Washington.
The Rev. Melinda H. Jones, pastor of Advent Evangelical Lutheran Church in North Charleston, South Carolina.
The Rev. Kenneth C. Kimball, STS, pastor of Old East Paint Creek Lutheran Church in Waterville, Iowa, and Old West Paint Creek Lutheran Church in Waukon, Iowa.
The Rev. James T. Lehmann, STS, pastor of Immanuel Lutheran Church in Thomasboro, Illinois.
The Rev. Dr. Eric M. Riesen, pastor of Trinity Lutheran Church in Ashland, Ohio.
The Rev. Dan Selbo, pastor of St. Timothy’s Lutheran Church in San Jose, California.
The Rev. Dr. David M. Wendel of Jacksonville, Florida, Assistant to the Bishop for Ministry and Ecumenism for the NALC.

The installation service for Bishop John Bradosky at the 2011 NALC Convocation in Hilliard, Ohio.

No further nominations are accepted until the 2019 NALC Convocation, at which time any delegate to the Convocation may nominate additional candidates for bishop.

To prepare for the election process for bishop, the Executive Council provided a booklet of prayers encouraging NALC members to engage in prayer and discernment leading up to the election. The prayer booklet and information on the election process may be found online at

The current NALC Executive Council.

The Convocation will elect one lay person and one pastor to four-year terms on the Executive Council. Five pastors and three lay people have been nominated. Additional nominations for Executive Council must be submitted to the Nominating Committee by June 24.

The nominees for the lay position of Executive Council are:
Ms. Rebecka V. Andrae, a member of St. Paul Lutheran Church in Latrobe, Pennsylvania.
Ms. Rosemary Johnson, a member of Hope Lutheran Church in Ladysmith, Wisconsin.
Mr. Scott Kramer, a member of St. John Lutheran Church in Boerne, Texas.

The nominees for the clergy position on Executive Council are:
The Rev. Bassam J. Abdallah of Prospect, Kentucky, a retired pastor and a member of House of Prayer Lutheran Church in Elizabethtown, Kentucky.
The Rev. Rebecca M. M. Heber, pastor of Oasis Church in Lake Mary, Florida.
The Rev. Dr. Keith G. Less, pastor of Trinity Lutheran Church in Abilene, Kansas.
The Rev. K. Craig Moorman, pastor and mission developer at River’s Edge Ministries, Mount Airy, Maryland, and interim pastor of First Evangelical Lutheran Church of Gray Manor in Dundalk, Maryland.
The Rev. Carl L. M. Rasmussen, pastor of First Lutheran Church in Kirkland, Illinois.

The Convocation will elect two members of the Court of Adjudication to four-year terms. Three pastors and a lay person have been nominated for the Court of Adjudication. Additional nominations for the Court of Adjudication must be submitted to the Nominating Committee by June 24.

The Court of Adjudication decides appeals from disciplinary decisions and questions regarding interpretation of the NALC’s governing documents.

The nominees for the Court of Adjudication are:
The Rev. Jennifer Gold of Helotes, Texas, director of Commission Expeditions and a member of St. John Lutheran Church in Boerne, Texas.
The Rev. Leslie Haines of Fort Wayne, Indiana, chaplain and executive director of Lutheran Military Veterans and Families Ministry and a member of St. John’s Lutheran Church of Lake Township near Fort Wayne, Indiana.
The Rev. Marty Ramey of Dallas, North Carolina, an interim pastor and a member of Holy Trinity Lutheran Church in Gastonia, North Carolina.
Mr. Allyn Ray Rub of Llano, Texas, a retired police officer and a member of St. James Lutheran Church in Llano, Texas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *